2020 Student Teacher of the Year:

Grace Minter

Mid-Atlantic Christian University

NCACTE Student Teacher of the Year Award

Each NCACTE member institution in good standing may nominate one candidate for the North Carolina Association of Colleges and Teacher Educators Award of the Year. One teacher candidate from the NCACTE member institutions will be recognized as the Outstanding Student Teacher of the Year in North Carolina. This recognition will be celebrated at the annual fall NCACTE Teacher Education Forum. The deadline for nominations is May 28, 2022.

The teacher candidate must have been nominated as the Outstanding Student Teacher, or otherwise recognized for excellence, at their home college or university and must have a minimum grade point average of 3.25.

The teacher candidate must submit an electronic “dossier” that includes the following: coversheet, narrative, and 3 letters of recommendation. Full instruction about criteria and submission can be found at the buttons below.

2021 Student Teacher of the Year:

James Michael Sapp

UNC Chapel Hill

2018 Student Teacher of the Year:

Makayla Church

UNC Charlotte

2017 Student Teacher of the Year:

Eliana Berger

UNC Greensboro

2016 Student Teacher of the Year:

Amanda Blakely

East Carolina University

2019 Student Teacher of the Year:

Bonnie Roop

UNC Charlotte


North Carolina Association of Colleges for Teacher Education